Board Members

Board of Directors

CBCC is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, representative of the communities we serve. They are business leaders and medical experts, responsible for making organizational decisions to benefit patients and donors in the greater Charlotte community.

Martin Grable President & CEO, Community Blood Center of the Carolinas
Todd Davis, MD (Chariman) Vice President Medical Affairs, Caromont Health
Scott Gollinger (Vice Chair) Vice President of Clinical Services, CMC-Northeast
Ned Lipford, MD (Medical Director) Carolinas Medical Center Laboratory
Eric S. Jenkins (Treasurer) Resident Controller, Comag Marketing Group, LLC
Robert H. Hammer III (Secretary) Attorney at Law, Robert H. Hammer III, P.C.
Mike Hummer Executive Director, Charlotte 49ers Athletic Foundation
Scott Leighty Senior Vice President Corporate, Carolinas Healthcare System
Scott Echelberger Vice President Operations, Catawba Valley Medical Center
Mark C. Patafio Senior Vice President, Market Executive, Piedmont Bank
Linda E. Swayne, PhD Professor, Dept. of Marketing, UNC-Charlotte

Medical Advisory Committee

The medical advisory committee, compromised of local professionals, counsels our Board of Directors about medical concerns. The team of experts, business and medical, are entrusted as stewards of local healthcare resources, ensuring that our community gets the most value possible for its healthcare dollars.

Beth Noble Blood Bank Supervisor, Anson Community Hospital
Deborah Burns Blood Bank Supervisor, Blue Ridge Healthcare - Grace Hospital
Jeanne Frye Blood Bank Supervisor, Blue Ridge Healthcare - Valdese Hospital
Barbara Debski Blood Bank Supervisor, Catawba Valley Medical Center
David Lail Blood Bank Supervisor, Frye Region Medical Center
Theadrea Gordon Transfusion Services Supervisor, Piedmont Medical Center
Angela Mahathey Transfurion Medicine Manager, Presbyterian Hospital
Serena Hatok Blood Bank Supervisor, Stanly Regional Medical Center
Barbara Walsh-Phillips Blood Bank Supervisor, Wilkes Regional Medical Center
Marian Fortmann Transfusion Service & Immunology Manager, Carolinas Medical Center
Carol Price Blood Bank Supervisor, CMC-Cleveland
Susan Patterson Laboratory Supervisor, CMC-Kings Mountain
Judy Armstrong Laboratory Supervisor, CMC-Lincoln
Beth Curtis Blood Bank Supervisor, CMC-Northeast
Terri Kientzel Acute Care Laboratory Manager, CMC-Pineville
Amber Williams Blood Bank Supervisor, CMC-Union
Sandi Bell Blood Bank Supervisor, CMC-University
Ned Lipford, MD Chief of Pathology & Medical Director of Laboratory, Carolinas Medical Center, Medical Director of CBCC
Carol Weida, MD Pathologist, Carolinas Medical Center
Rita Tate Manager, New Processes & Technology, Community Blood Center of the Carolinas
Khou Moua Director, Technical & Hospital Services Director, Community Blood Center of the Carolinas
Anne Howell, RN Director, Training & Development, Community Blood Center of the Carolinas
Martin Grable President & CEO, Community Blood Center of the Carolinas
John McCain Chief Operating Officer, Community Blood Center of the Carolinas
Deanne Wells Director, Quality Assurance, Community Blood Center of the Carolinas